Upsilon Delta, the Kilgore College chapter of Sigma Kappa Delta, the national English honor society for two-year colleges, inducted 34 KC students at a ceremony April 14.

Membership in SKD requires students maintain a grade point average of at least 3.3 on a 4.0 scale, to earn no grade lower that a “B” in a college English class and to complete at least one semester of college studies.

Jason Graves, department chair for language development, sponsors SKD at KC.

“Membership in an honor society always benefits the students,” Graves said. “It’s a positive mark on their application for admission to the universities and it’s a way to earn scholarships. Honor societies recognize significant academic achievement, and that’s what college should be about.”

SKD, founded in 1996 at Northern Illinois University, is the only national organization that recognizes academic excellence in English for community college students.

KC began its chapter in 2009 by submitting an application to the national office and undergoing a successful review of facilities and instruction.

The KC SKD chapter extends membership invitations to all eligible KC students each spring.

For more information about SKD or for questions regarding membership in the organization, contact Graves at 903-988-3720 or send an e-mail to


Diboll: Elsi Hernandez

Flower Mound: Debra Elliott

Gilmer: Morgan Miller and Mikayla Patterson

Gladewater: Anna Carter

Henderson: Diana Aguilar-Zarate, Alana Brown, Kaitlin Smith, Derrell Tucker and Leonardo Vielma

Kilgore: Destiny Camacho, James Carpenter, Krista Chandler and Jennifer Yates

League City: Lauren Kite

Longview: Trystan Deck, Phillip Foster, Tiffaney Goodwin, Aaron Key, Cruz Mendez, Daniel Moreno, Staci Raffety and Kimberley Scott

Lufkin: Caleb Bristow

Marshall: Sarah Popham

New London: Null Finley

Ore City: James Buckner

Overton: Melissa Lee

Parker: Korinne Manjarres

Shawnee (Kan.): Allison Eigsti

Tyler: Da’Jah Thompson

White Oak: Jamie Baber, Madison Belcher and Nicolas Gaviria