Region 7 ESC announces regional 2012 school board of the year

The Longview ISD school board has been named the regional winner for the 2012 School Board of the Year (SBOTY) Award.  Longview ISD will represent Region 7 as its nominee for the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) Texas School Board of the Year competition, which will be announced in September.


The Longview board consists of members who have very diverse backgrounds in the medical industry, business leadership, and community involvement. Those serving on the 2011-2012 Regional SBOTY are as follows:  Sam Satterwhite, President, Ted Beard, Vice President, Jud Murray, Secretary, John Harrison, Dr. Chris Mack, John Preston, and Dr. Troy Simmons.


The Longview ISD board was nominated by their superintendent, Dr. James Wilcox, for their collaboration, synergy, ethical standards, financial integrity, and their commitment to students and staff.  The Longview board of trustees has shown continued dedication as a policy-making body. In the past two years LISD trustees have adopted extensive policies which prescribe the specific manner in which contracts, grievances, and dismissal procedures are to be considered. In addition, the board has approved policy changes on the elimination of tuition for out-of-district transfer students, guidelines for distribution of non-school literature by individuals outside the school community, and allowing dual credit courses to count toward class ranking, among others.


With the support of its board, Longview ISD strives to meet and exceed educational improvement projects. According to the application submitted by LISD, the Longview ISD Board of Trustees increased educational program spending over the past three fiscal years by $4,803,122 or 12.20%. This spending was gratified in June 2012 when Longview administration received word that LHS students dramatically improved their performance on all exit-level exams of the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills tests administered earlier this year.


To keep in touch with educational trends, LISD Board members actively participate in continued professional development. Each member averages 19 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) over the past six years, well above the required eight hour minimum. In addition, several members hold leadership positions on the xenical side effects Legislative Action Committee, Texas Black School Board Members Caucus, Texas Association of School Boards and the Risk Management Board.


Created in 1971, the School Board Awards Program recognizes those school boards that demonstrate outstanding dedication and rendered ethical service to the children of Texas.  Nominations are based on the following criteria:  functions as a policy-making body, adherence to adopted board policies, support for educational performance in accordance with state-established standards, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics, provision of financial support for the school system, participation in workshops and other performance improvement programs, placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above personal or political motives, public relations efforts, including community awareness, and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.


Longview ISD, along with 19 other regional winners, will be reviewed by the School Board Awards Committee in August where five Honor Boards will be announced. The five Honor Boards and the Outstanding Board will be recognized at a special awards presentation during the TASA/TASB Convention September 28–30, 2012, in Austin.

John Harrison, Secretary; Ted Beard, Vice President; Dr. Chris Mack, Dr. Troy Simmons, Jud Murray, John Preston, and Sam Satterwhite, President, with Forest Park Middle School Duke Scholars.