The next City Council election will take place on Saturday, May 12, 2012. Voters from District 1 and 2 will elect a council member. Voters from all districts will elect a Mayor. Visit the “City Government” page at to see more information, including maps of council districts. Election results will be posted online after ballots have been tabulated. The following candidates have filed:


Mayor (All Longview):

Tammy L. Barnes and Jay Dean


District 1 (West Longview):

David J. Sparks, John Sims, Samantha D. Clark


District 2 (Southwest Longview):

Gary L. Smith (Unopposed candidate declared elected).


Early Voting:

Monday, April 30 – Friday, May 4, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 5, from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Monday, May 7 – Tuesday, May 8, from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.


Early Voting Location:

Early Voting will be held only at City Hall, 300 W. Cotton St.


Election Day Voting:

Saturday, May 12 from 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.


District 1: Pine Tree Community Center, 1701 Pine Tree Rd.

District 2: Stamper Park Resource Center, 502 S. Center St.

District 3: Broughton Recreation Center, 801 S. MLK Blvd.

District 4: Forest Park Magnet School Library, 1644 N. Eastman Rd.

District 5: Spring Hill Williamson Auditorium, 3101 Spring Hill Rd.

District 6: City Hall Lobby, 300 W. Cotton St.



For more information: