For the second year in a row, the graduates of John Tyler High School, Class of 2001, have awarded a $500 scholarship to an outstanding graduating senior.

This year’s recipient is Tiana Whitaker, 2012 recipient of the John Tyler High School Class of 2001 Scholarship.  The award, selected by a committee of John Tyler High School personnel and alumni, was presented at an awards ceremony, May 24th at the Women’s Building by 2001 John Tyler graduate, Mr. Jonathan Beverly.

“This award is special in that at their tenth year reunion, members of the class met to decide how they can create a useful memory of their class in perpetuity.  They decided on an endowment and have a goal of reaching at least $10,000 in thirty months,” explained Larry Goddard, Tyler ISD Foundation Executive Director.  “Each year, Karla Hardy, one of their amazing alumnae donates the $500 scholarship amount plus a management fee to the Foundation so that the funds donated to the endowment will remain untouched forever.”

“Karla is the epitome of professionalism,” states Pamela Rodriguez, career counselor and the fund’s manager at John Tyler High School.  “She now resides in D.C. working for a huge law firm.  She is a beautiful Christian young lady. Karla served on John Kerry’s Presidential campaign trail years back when she was in school up north.”

Additional donations to the John Tyler Class of 2001 Scholarship Endowment may be sent to:  The Tyler ISD Foundation, 315 N. Broadway, Suite 401, Tyler, Texas 75702-5757, attention: Larry Goddard or by calling (903) 266-9806.

“We have just over 18 months to finalize the $10,000 and have much less accumulated.  These ten year alumni need help in reaching their goal, whether anonymously or publicly, we are asking for additional help in the community.  This is the only graduating class of Tyler ISD’s almost 130 year history of creating a permanent endowment to fund a merit academic scholarship,” added Goddard.  “We admire these young graduates and realize that they are paying college loans, marriages, and diapers!  Any assistance in helping reach their $10,000 goal will be greatly admired and appreciated.  None of the $10,000 will ever be spent; only the interest earned and designated gifts for scholarships will be awarded.”

Committee members included Karla Hardy, Esquire; and Yolanda Glenn.