Department announces 2018 scholarships that encourage the study of history

The University of Texas at Tyler Department of History announces its 2018 scholarships that recognize outstanding academic success among UT Tyler history majors.
This year’s Edwin Morgan and Frank H. Smyrl Endowed History Scholar is Jeanna Mankins, and the Phil Stacy Jackson History Scholar is Taylor Foster.
Mankins and Foster, both of Tyler, received $750 and $500, respectively.
“Jeanna and Taylor represent our history department well, and we are proud to give them this support to not only to help them continue their successes, but also to celebrate all of our history majors here at the university,” said Dr. Martin Slann, UT Tyler College of Arts and Sciences Dean.
In addition, the Smyrl Award was established to honor the memory of sibling historians Edwin Morgan Smyrl and Frank Smyrl, while the Jackson Award was established in memory of UT Tyler alumnus historian, Phil Stacy Jackson. Dr. Frank Smyrl served as the first history professor at UT Tyler and founding department chair and dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.